Dog Fight II

Enemy was dead ahead, storming our stellar gates, trying to blast their way in, however, modular gunships and spiky tower guns kept repealing them from the close vicinity of the plasma panels. Swarms of their vessels flew speeding around our post, bombarding the gates foundation, distracting fire onto the energy shields that nothing could break.

Proton bomb exploded on one of the shields and the thing just shook the blast off and stood still before the tower rifling. A push on the lever and my sauser took the velocity towards the raging battle. Light became stretched over the cockpit visor as I infused myself among them. Two short twists on the control made me spin around, evading their bursts and overpassing. Flaps opened to ease my trajectory, then one punch on the control showed me in the group of five shapeshifting drones every Ildocian pilot hated. My bursts of fire aimed at the pillar that held the shield which was covering the ramming beam of laser, pointed at the gate. Sizzling of the strong light became louder as I orbited the chrome pillar, when those five drones came sticking on my back.

First hit blew my tale flipper, second passed over my head and the third kicked me towards the laser. Heat of the weapon penetrated my sauser, making me scream out of painful burns and oozing blisters popping on my face. Hard swing of tale brought me back in the sky, rotated me up in the cloud and turned me for another round.

– You are so dead! I’m gonna make scrap metal out of you fuckers! – I said in descending at the laser, when drones jumped out from the cloud, missing me with every inflamed comet.

Shot by shot rang on their protective shield that glowed in electronic grid, but one broke in and destroyed the persistent machine. Computer warned me about my ammunition and lack of it, but I paid no attention, because the laser was half way through the gate. With my teeth, firmly joined under the helmet, I screamed the most vile insults, turning the controls to evade the new attack and broke off from the pursuit. Brief time table gave me much needed opportunity to take aim at the defensive drones that were mid-transformation into a ballistic projectiles.

– Can’t catch me, so you’ll try taking me down from the sky? Good FUCKING luck! AAAA!!! – the shout echoed the saucer and weapons opened fire at the approaching robot..

As time stopped for a moment, fragments of the drone came flying away from a ball of flames that was rapidly growing out of original form. I flew straight through the bastard, ignited my rear emergency guns and positioned myself in midair, focusing on the shiny pillar. All I needed was few good shots at the wires and crucial elements that were holding the power charge of the shield. Gently the trigger fell back and rockets went out the vesle, followed by a thick mist.

BOOOOM, shield went down, bending to a side, presenting the weak laser in it’s base. Our towers have elevated the rate of fire and the gunships went for the kill, when the drone exploded, heading straight towards me. All of his melted metal poured over me, corrupting the system causing black smoke to rise out of my bowl. Few little explosions announced the big one, so I pulled the eject ribbon and exited the saucer in a neat egg shaped capsule. I was defenceless now, without any weapon on me, just a protective capsule and a seat. My ship spined in axis, heading towards the overpopulated enemy city, when another laser dispersed it into smithereens. I turned my camera when our gates fell down, cracked and broken like an old relic. Behind me was an approaching fleet of super drones and five times bigger starship with twenty lasers sticking out from its top.

– It figures. – I signed in disbelief and opened my eyes to the stellar gate where our world waited the rage infused invasion.

Infuse

burning_suns___cyborg_fighter_squadron_by_redan23-d6j9tyz

2 thoughts on “Dog Fight II

Leave a Reply

